Possible career change at 50.

I have been looking for a career change for a while and would like to be self employed again and have often though about doing home inspection in the past. I have been a maintenance manager of an industrial plant for the last 9 years and truly hate my job but there are bills to pay so I get up every day and take care of business. I guess my question is to the guys that have been doing HI for a while is, are you making a good living and how hard is it to get stated and what training courses are good to start with.

Thanks for any feed back in advance and hope to be answering question for other on this forum years down the road.

Well,

This is a tough gig and it's even tougher to get started in. It's not so hard to start up a HI business but once you've hung out your shingle, getting the work is pretty tough for a newbie. Then it takes about two to three years of being in the red before you can garner enough steady work to ensure you make a profit every month.

Now, that's the normal reality. Here's a dose of reality. Since the recession began, this profession's numbers have probably dropped by at least 30%. People who were in business for decades had to close their doors. I know one guy who has been in business since 1989. When the bubble burst he had to sell one of his investment properties a couple of years ago to pay his bills. He didn't get anywhere near what the property was worth and he's barely hung in there. Now they say we're heading into another housing slump.

Unless you have enough to tide you over, this recession is the worst possible time that you'll be getting into this gig.

ONE TEAM - ONE FIGHT!!!

Mike