Subterranian drain pipe level with cove joint

Hi All,

I'm new to this and hoping for some advice.

An inspection of a 40-year-old house has revealed that the french drain pipe encircling the house at the foundation level (some 8 feet below the surface) is placed on (not below) the concrete footing. It was explained to me that this causes the water to remain level with (not below) the concrete slab, and that it's only a question of when (not if) the hydrostatic pressure will cause either the cove joint or the basement floor itself to leak.

The water level in the sump hole tends to be high, and the sump tends to run more often as a result. But the basement is dry - no rot or mold, no cracks in the floor or wall.

The house itself is on gently sloping land, but the south wall has flat to negative slope toward the house.

The drainage expert has quoted us a reasonable $125 or so per linear foot to retrench the entire perimeter of the foundation, dig a trench about a foot below the footing and do the french drain properly, the way it should have been done 40 years ago. We'd like to finish the basement, and he tells us that unless we redo the drain properly, we'll always have problems with the floor/walls.

My question is this: his solution obviously makes sense, but it's a 20-25K fix. The drain currently works, but it's obviously 12 inches higher than it should be to eliminate water pressure on the joint. To get the job done, I'm wondering if it's truly necessary to encircle the whole house. Instead, could I trench out a simpler gravity drain 9 or even 10 feet down and leading away from 1 or 2 corners of the house, thereby reducing the hydrostatic pressure and eliminating the risk of infiltration & foundation cracks?

What do you think?

How does he know the drain tile is laid on the footing?

Where do your downspouts drain to?

What if you elevated the basement floor? Probably no head room. But you will want a raised subfloor.