Digital pictures in report

Lately I have been asked if I put pictures in reports. As I do not I am considering buying camera and the report I use is 3D. My laptop is a Tosheba pentium 4. Any suggestions on camera to use and how much extra time and trouble involved. Do you charge extra for report with pictures? In the past I have been telling them I am a home inspector and not a photographer. Maybe I am wrong and behind the times.

Thanks for any suggestions,

Paul Burrell

Hi Paul,

I started using pictures not long after I started inspecting. It does consume some time, but, I think that it helps people "see" what I am trying to tell them. I know some people state that my writing skills should be able to paint the perfect picture and photos are unnecessary, but, I think it has enhanced my reports. I write alot of reports as a Fire captain/paramedic and I feel I can "paint" a picture with words to describe what I see. I just think the clients like to see the pictures.

I don't charge extra for this feature of my report.

Just my two cents worth.

Paul:

I use a Nikon Cool Pix. Pretty much bullet proof.

3D makes it so easy to import pictures plus it really helps with the reports. I take pictures of defects that are important to note or say, an attic that was full or stored goods that I couldn't get into. I've been using pocket 3D now for some time so the pictures help me remember key items as well (as you know it's almost impossible to type on a PDA). I take a picture of the home for a nice cover page. I've used the 3D report a lot in my marketing too, clients like the fact that there are pictures in the report.

No extra charge for pictures in the report, takes no time to import into 3D and they help protect me as well.

Hope this helps.