I've been noticing some ceiling stains

koolzero

My house is 13 years old with a shake roof. Several months ago I noticed a stain on the ceiling of one of my bedrooms and today I have a new one in the master bath.

My dad says I can go up into the attic and try and find the leak and patch it with some tar or some sort of roof patch sealant...

Is this possible? I told him I should call a professional to look at it but he told me not to do that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Kevin

You may try to find it yourself, but unless you have vast experience in this area I wouldn't recommend it.

Shake roofs (and others) can be leaking at one point but actually show up at another. I think you'd be very lucky to find it on the first go. Have a professional roofer with experience on shake roofs come out and find it. If he starts telling you the roof is shot, or this or that is shot, call some one else and get second opinions before believing (and paying) anyone.

Donald

What Lawson said.

That said.......

Finding roof leaks is not easy. In my experience, roofing rarely leaks out in the "field" shakes. They usually leak @ angles, vertices, penetrations, flashings, etc. Look all those areas over first.

If you are lucky enough to find where the water is coming in, DON'T PATCH IT W/ROOF SEALANT; take two aspirin, get a good nights sleep, & come back here w/ a photo or very good description of what you found. Then, a decent fix can be discussed.

Originally posted by kurt

If you are lucky enough to find where the water is coming in, DON'T PATCH IT W/ROOF SEALANT; take two aspirin, get a good nights sleep, & come back here w/ a photo or very good description of what you found. Then, a decent fix can be discussed.