Question about Quest

dundee

I am a licensed contractor in MD since 1985 currently taken the home inspector class at our local community college. I was in a house today and the home owner asked me if the pipe in her house was OK. It looked like polybutylene, the manufacture was quest E PB 2110 She was asking if its going to fail. I told her I would check here and let her know the responses. Thanks for any info.

Welcome to the forum Brian.

You can find information about PB at the following link.

http://www.polybutylene.com/poly.html

There was class action lawsuits filed on some PB plumbing lines but they have since expired..

Will it fail? You can't predict that. Can it fail? Yes.

What areas of the house are these lines? Are they supply, distribution or both?

Hi John,

Thanks for the reply. PB is both the supply and distribution. She hasn't had any problems as of now. I'm looking to give her a estimate on replacing kitchen and bath counters and would like to know the best way to connect new cut offs to the PB. My plumber says regular compression fittings will do the job. Any suggestions?

The only PB I see still in use at a house is with copper fittings and copper crimp rings.

I very rarely see Big Blue that is still in place and if I do it is the 250 psi version, the 160 psi is the one you will rarely see because it has already cracked/leaked and been replaced.

I still give the buyer all the info about the past problems and class action but if it's been in place this long it's about as much to worry about as any other pipes.