Designing a new software solution- input welcome

Hi guys. I am in the initial planning stages of designing and developing a new Home Inspection software and business software solution.

Thought I'd get some input from you. If you use software reporting, what do you like? What don't you like? What's missing? What would you like to see?

What do you see as the advantages and disadvantages?

If you don't use software reporting, what has kept you from doing so?

A little background on me and how this came about. I am an engineer and use design software and engineering software daily. Currently I am a component designer but earlier in my career I worked as a 3-D modeler. Quite by coincidence, I have had the pleasure of being involved in the design and development of each of the very highly sophisticated programs I have used as well as Beta-testing them, making suggestions, fixing/finding bugs, etc.

Fast forward today...

I recently started researching my own HI business, have posted here on a few occasions. What I've found and as those posts reflect, I have been grossly underwhelemed with what is available on the software front, not to mention what they're charging for it.

So initially, I was just going to write up my own report template, but as I got into it, I was considering what I wanted my report to say, how to say it, how I wanted to put in information and where, what I wanted to give my customer as my product and what they should know and have access to. Precisely how was I going to go about doing all this and organizing it? It quickly spiraled out of the range of mear template writing.

At this point I cannot tell you how many demos I've tested, had demonstrated for me, researched, yadda yadda, and not one of these comes close to reaching the potential it could be and what it could offer.

So, as I said, I am in the initial planning stages and I am aware this may be a 2-3 year ordeal.

Thanks for your time.

Jeff

Jeff wrote: