Damaged Garage Door

karenk

Hello! I have been doing home inspections for about 4 years now. I was trained by AHIT. They trained me to test photo eyes and the pressure reverse on all garage doors. WA ST SOP required. To pressure test they taught me to have my hands at waist level and be ready to pull them away if the pressure revers failed.

This Sat, I was inspection a 600K house and it had a 3 car garage, 1 single bay, being used for storage, and the double door used for parking. The seller was there and since there was so much stored stuff on the single car side, I pressure tested it from the outside. In about 1 second of the door touching my hands the door (mostly the top panel) folded in half like a beer can and a glass window shattered. I was shocked, I have never had this happen. I consulted with an AHIT advisor and he told me I should not have tested it due to not being able to test it from the inside due to stored items. He basically said I made a stupid mistake. He said by being inside, I could have been watching the strut for stress and let go. Actually, if I had been inside I could have been hurt by the shattering glass. And it happened so fast, I do not think I could have seen it and let go in time.

Then I talked to the garage door professional who says he does not understand why we test them that way. They are to be tested with a 2x4 block of wood on the floor. I looked it up, and yes that is what the manufacturers advise. However, if the pressure revers fails, it will still crimp the top panel and damage it, so I see the point of using your hands to let go quickly if it fails. But this one broke is a mere second.

I am still waiting to hear how much it will cost to fix the damage, and have asked if the owner would be willing to split it with me. I do not think I was being negligent, but his unit was not operating properly.