Which is better HIP Pro or Palm Tech

I am just getting started in the business and have narrowed my choices on reporting software down to HIP Pro and Palm Tech. I have done a free demo on both and I really like Palm Tech but can't decide if it is worth the extra money. I know i don't want to produce a "cheap" report but $900 compared to $500 is a big difference, is there something I am missing in the demos that justifies the price difference. I don't mind spending the money but I don't want to "throw it away" for a product that simply overpriced.

• 4 years later...
On 9/2/2016 at 8:05 AM, platshaw said:

I am just getting started in the business and have narrowed my choices on reporting software down to HIP Pro and Palm Tech. I have done a free demo on both and I really like Palm Tech but can't decide if it is worth the extra money. I know i don't want to produce a "cheap" report but $900 compared to $500 is a big difference, is there something I am missing in the demos that justifies the price difference. I don't mind spending the money but I don't want to "throw it away" for a product that simply overpriced.

If you mean Home Inspector Pro (also called HIP), HIP is.

Personally I use HomeGuage, but if I was going to switch to one of those two, I'd go with Home Inspector Pro.  You're going to be spending a LOT of time with your software.  Get the best one for you, not the cheapest or most expensive one.

I've seen a lot of inspectors start off with bad software and then have to make the switch a couple years later.  Just made life harder on them.

Get it right the first time.

Call their customer support lines and see what kind of responses you get.  Tutorials and customer software support is important when you're first learning to use it.  Palm-Tech's support ain't so great from what I'm seeing online in inspector discussions.

Most important, LEARN TO USE IT.