Navigating the myriad of training classes offered

I've been considering dropping my good paying, excessive overnight travel, corporate job to join the home inspection world. I'm a mechanical engineer and currently do inspections on boilers. Yes... I'm aware a house is not a boiler and I have plenty to learn. I've been reading enough to know I think this could be a great option for me. It'll be a pay cut, especially for the 1st year or 2 but it'll be worth it if I can stay home more often and watch the kids grow up.  We've got good savings and my wife is gainfully employed. 

I just recently found this site and have found many of the past articles to be useful. It does not seem like the ASHI School or AHIT is worth the money. I'm in Alabama so it is not required but I think it would be very helpful if I can find the right course. I've heard some good things about Kaplan but there is not much on here that I could find. What about ATI Training? InterNACHI?  I'd like to have some structured training, whether it is online or live. 

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

Nathan

Vestavia Hills, Alabama

I have a little school in NY. The folks that pass through my doors have nothing but contempt for AHIT and I'm always shocked at their thorough lack of knowledge. Free schools know exactly what they're worth. 

I used to present for Kaplan- with any curriculum I suspect there is a great deal of difference between presenters. The Kaplan presentations were OK  but  left the presenter the challenge of expanding the conversation well beyond the slide content to include the necessary additional information for the student. I watched a lot of presenters also include plenty of inspection folklore and misconceptions. The schools are most valuable as tool to provide a window to see you don't know. Then, it's up to you to go out and get your real education.