Where're We Going?

This is an informal poll, spurred by the avalanche of news articles Mike recently posted about the large corporation planning on "uniting the home inspection and mold inspection fields into a unified body".

What does anyone else think about the likelihood of this occurring?

Does anyone else wonder @ the obstacles to accomplishing this unification?

Does anyone else think it is in competition for "worst idea in the home inspection profession?"

Briefly stated, this is bothering me. What, if anything, can be done about it?

I read a research paper out of Finland yesterday which was concerned with whether hidden moisture damage could be inferred from air quality testing. The answer appeared to be yes but the judgement needed to perform the testing and analyze the results, "wow!".

And we think a bunch of inspectors running around with thermal cameras is going to cause trouble.

As an engineer I did lab tests of sort often and again often I had to defend my results when some other engineer repeated the testing and got a different result. Its all about how you do the test.

You better be able to explain what you did different and get the same results over and over again or you will be in deep doo doo.

Chris, Oregon

Chris, you are right. The second most important thing in the inspection business is Protocols and their ramifications.

Kurt, For me you are preaching to the choir! But I seem to hear that little voice that keeps saying "Increase your sales and get into xxxxxxxxx". Lots of folks listening that can't seem to understand how complex inspection is. Forget about the business side of it and just look at the vast amount of knowledge an inspector must know and then think of the hundreds of inspectors that don't even have a clue.(and they don't even suspect anything!) I sure don't know it all, but I am quite confidant I know more than many!