Sum it all up...

fqp25

I'm still new in this business, and I have had people call me up from one source or another, and not really know exactly what they want, or what to expect. Usually 9 times out of 10 when the phone rings, I'm usually driving, stuffing something in my mouth, or just plain spacing out, and I can't get the perfect "first sentence" out to really explain my service..

So I ask all of you: If you could sum-up your service in one sentence, what would it be?

I couldn't do it in one sentence. I do a lot of stuff.

When I answer the phone, it's "Hello, this is Kurt, how can I help you?" That says enough for the first hit.

Giving good phone is not formulaic; you just have to run w/their questions, and do the best you can. When it's the folks w/the "10 Questions to Ask Your Home Inspector" that they saw in the Sunday paper, those can get hard, because they're coming into the conversation thinking they know more than you. If I can't get them off the stupid questions, I usually don't want them for a customer.

Frank,

I've never had to explain my services, so I don't have a sentence.

Sounds like you may have some anxiety issues. Relax, and stop stuffing your mouth.

If you can't explain your services, then you really don't understand them yourself. What experience/knowledge do you have? That's what you offer. But like I said, you shouldn't need to explain.

My typical daily conversation goes something like:

ring, ring,

"Ounce of Prevention, may I help you?"

(Client) "Yes, I'm buying a house and need..."

Now I grab a form I made for myself and start asking questions and filling in the blanks.

"When do you need the inspection?"

"What type of home?"

"How old is the home?"

"Is the home occupied?"

"Are utilities on?"

"Is there a well or septic?"

"Do you have any particular concerns about the home?"

Having everything planned in advance shows that I have done this before. It builds client confidence. It gets me off the phone quicker.