New Home Inspections

Chad Fabry

Hi all,

For some reason folks tend to send me an occasional email asking for advice on this or that. I do my best to answer and always direct them to ask here at TIJ so they can get the benefit of all the experience the cumulative brain has to offer.

Here's the question I was asked:

Hi Chad. Sorry to keep pestering you for info, when you get sick of me just

> say so I will totally understand. Just wondering how you handle new homes?

> They are walk thru inspections aren't they? So is there no report filled out?

I inspect new homes the same as pre-owned. I make no assumptions.

I tell clients that as a consumer I wouldn't think that an inspection would be necessary because. . . well, its new and the builder has a good reputation and blah, blah, blah. But as an inspector, I myself am always surprised at the significant issues I do find, even with the reputable builders. Names mean nothing to me.

Fact is, it also may take me longer cuz of the AFCI's in the home. I trip em all and go thru each bedroom and hit all the receptacles. That's something I don't do on pre-2002 homes.

What I have noticed is that the smaller tract homes tend to come out pretty well but the more expensive larger homes specially ones built on slopes around here have a lot of issues and code violations that seem to sail right past final.

It doesn't matter even if the inspector god himself just inspected it, I always would advise the buyer to get thier own inspection.

The scope of the inspection is limited to what was readily discernable visibly at the time of the inspection. Maybe on the day the inspector god inspected the building it was sunny and dry. The next day could be rainy and wet etc. and thru no fault of the inspector god something else could turn up.

I an sure that the brethren could come up with a long list of problems found even recently with new construction.