Need help with fuse panel.

elwood556

I found four defects in the panel, in the picture below. I was wondering if you guys can tell me what defects you see. I'm new to Home Inspection and would like your input to see if i didn't miss anything. Also the wires are all 14 gauge copper, and the white wire is one leg of a 240V circuit. Thanks. [:-magnify

[

Originally posted by elwood556

I found four defects in the panel, in the picture below. I was wondering if you guys can tell me what defects you see. I'm new to Home Inspection and would like your input to see if i didn't miss anything. Also the wires are all 14 gauge copper, and the white wire is one leg of a 240V circuit. Thanks.

There are five defects in that picture, but I'll bet that there are more than five defects in that panel. Do you have a picture that shows the entire panel?

- Jim Katen, Oregon

(Edited after I saw Fritz's response, cause I missed a defect.)

Originally posted by Jim Katen

I found four defects in the panel, in the picture below. I was wondering if you guys can tell me what defects you see. I'm new to Home Inspection and would like your input to see if i didn't miss anything. Also the wires are all 14 gauge copper, and the white wire is one leg of a 240V circuit. Thanks.

There are five defects in that picture, but I'll bet that there are more than five defects in that panel. Do you have a picture that shows the entire panel?

- Jim Katen, Oregon

(Edited after I saw Fritz's response, cause I missed a defect.)

Sorry, i didn't take a picture of the entire panel. Any input on what you see in this picture would be helpfull though! Thanks.

Originally posted by AHI

In addition to the other problems listed you have an unmarked white hot. Even though you recognized it as one half of a 240, it still should have a piece of black tape wrapped around the end right before it attaches to the fuse/breaker.

A white can be used as a hot as long as it is marked.