New roof done, need your opinion

jermyzy

Hey guys, just had a new roof installed (cedar --> asphalt conversion) at my house, and just noticed a couple of things, hopefully I can get your opinions on it. Along the edges of the roof, I noticed that there is exposed wood under the shingles. Is this normal and do I have to worry about the wood rotting?

Image Insert:

200786175110_roof1.jpg

107 KB

Image Insert:

200786175242_roof2.jpg

80.52 KB

Image Insert:

200786175322_roof3.jpg

92.14 KB

Also, does the flashing around the chimney look okay, or is it supposed to be sealed off completely?

Image Insert:

20078617546_chimney.jpg

89.94 KB

Thanks for your help!

Im no roofing expert but that work doesnt impress me at all. The chimney flashing looks incomplete at best. There is lack of flashing all together in the areas of exposed wood. It even looks like there are gaps big enough for critters to crawl right in. The plywood should not be sticking up above the rake board like that.

Very poor workmanship in my opinion.

From using shingles on what appears to be less than a 2-12 to cracked underlayment with no drip edge and nails through aluminum foil for step flashing (sorry thats what it looks like.

Here check out this cool video.

http://dreamroofs.com/en/04/p_04_02.aspx

When you are done watching ,cancel the check. (Of course this is not legal advise and only satire (cough- cough.)

John check out the video yourself as I just found the thing.

So essentially, as I expected, my roof is not "water-proof" at all. I am gathering photo evidence and will be calling the roofing contractor soon. So with regards to the exposed wood problem, what is normally done to seal the roof and to ensure it is water-proof? Should drip edges be installed at all edges?

Chicago --> Is the cracked underlayment in the third picture? Regarding the chimney flashing, are they supposed to use some sort of sheet metal? And also, what is the concern with using nails in the flashing?