Flickering lights, neutral issue??

gordonjs

I'm an electrical engineer, but home electric certainly isn't my forte.

So for the next 12 months, I'll be living in an apartment while on some contract work. I moved in a few weeks ago and I noticed that the lights flicker.. QUITE a bit. We're not talking just when you turn on the AC, we're talking all the time, and certainly influenced by appliances, even small ones, etc. Also, when my neighbor upstairs runs anything, I get flicker as well. It's become a huge annoyance even in a few weeks.

The apartment has a main panel, but a seperate neutral and ground. (I assume the bond is done in the outside service disconnect) and the apartments are only 1 year old, so they are fairly new wiring.

I did something which I am SURE isn't code, just to test. I used a screwdriver to bond the neutral and ground at my panel in the apartment. I got a little spark, but ALL the flickering stopped. It was smooth as silk in the apartment (I was running the washing machine to maximize the flickering).

So, what could it be? From searching around, some people seem to say neutral/ground bond, but... Help me guys!

If the vibration from the guy upstairs or the washing machine is causing this to happen, I think you've got a loose connection arcing somewhere. When you had the cover off, did you check to ensure that the grounded (neutral) conductor was tight at its lug? I've had panels in brand new homes where I've found that the electrician hadn't even bothered to tighten down the lugs. If it's tight in the sub-panel, it might be loose at the main disconnect, though it sounds like it's in the house since the vibration is causing it. Did you call the landlord and pitch a b***h?

ONE TEAM - ONE FIGHT!!!

Mike

It's not vibration. If they turn on ANYTHING electrical, my lights flicker.

In other words, my lights oscillate when I run my washer OR my upstears apartment neighbor runs theirs.

Its purely electrical.