new member to this board

I'am researching becoming a home inspector. I want to do it correctly and as professionally as possible. I am in Wichita Kansas and having a hard time finding the best course. There are no current regulations in Kansas now so it's kind of fuzzy. is one association better than the other? Will there ever be any regulations and state licensing in kansas? thanks in advance for any help as I am very new to this and just beginning to learn.

Eric

Eric, I am not from Kansas, so can't help much with specifics there.

I am curious why you are looking into home inspections? Every inspector will have their own idea which organization is the "best". My advice is to look around the real estate community, other inspectors and the web to find out which has been around the longest, has impecable standards and code of ethics. I believe ethics and education are the most important tools to have. As I have never personally attended any "school" I can't tell you which is the best. I can tell you which schools have prepared inspectors that work for my company; ITA and AHIT. Both did a fair job. If you enter this business be ready to READ, READ, and LEARN. Then read some more! If you like, e/m me for more personal thoughts.

Eric, everything that Les has said and I will add this; You need to allow 3 years for your business to get going. Do not jump into this on a shoestring budget. You should allow around $15,000 for startup cost and then whatever you will need to live on. Do not plan on making a living off of home inspections for your first couple of years, it takes time to build your business. Sorry for not sugar coating this but this is not as easy of a profession as many think it is. Out of 100 who start a HI company this year only 25 will be around next year. Out of those 25 only 10 will be around the second year. Out of those 10 only 7 will be around in the third year.

Eric,