Estimating The Age Of Asphalt Shingles?

AbsoluteInspector

I am a home inspector for about two years now in the Saint Louis area.

One thing I have had a very difficult time with while trying to constantly become a better inspector is estimating the age of the roof shingles, and it seems to be one of the most common questions I get.

I can obviously tell when shingles are at or near the end of their useful life and I can also tell when they are less than six months old or so but everywhere in the middle is very hard for me to be sure and I often try to guess if my client really wants to know (while also notifying them that I can in no way be certain) but I don't want to have to guess at all.

How confident are some of you at estimating the shingle age and how do you do it and how do you express that to your client?

Age doesn't matter so much. Drainage, underlayment, valley liners, drip edge, flashing details, and all that other stuff the shingle mfg's. don't talk about does matter.

Everyone thinks shingles are the most important part of a roof and that they last 20 years. Not so.

Roofing performs as well as it drains. The same shingle, installed on a 3:12 pitch and a 10:12 pitch will have vastly different performance life. Same with flashing details.

So, like Marc, I don't think about age too much. I only report it because people expect me to.

The plumbing vent flashings that are the all black type plastic/rubber units often have the year, month and day of their birth stamped on them. They're usually a good clue IF there are no indications that they are older or newer than the shingles. They don't last as long as most shingles, though, so that isn't an infallible method. In other words, the shingles may be older but it's less likely that the shingles are newer since common practice is to install all new flashings when reroofing.

Say it has 15 to 20 year shingles on a sloped gable roof.