New toy- Panasonic DMC-FZ30

I'm posting this in gen. discussion because I have no intention of ever bringing this baby on an inspection.

I just ordered a Panasonic DMC-FZ30 digital camera. I'm a little over my head- I did a fair amount of film photography about 25 years ago- but I've been wanting to get back into it for some time. Other than my inspection camera (point and shoot) I have NO digital camera experience. Any tips are welcome and much needed!

I did a lot of research before deciding in this model. The one thing I can't get a handle on is imaging software. What is the best one for "dummies"?

Thanks in advance.

Chris,

For image "handling" in general, organizing, culling, browsing, there's one called ACDSee. It is "shareware" and is available online for free, but you have to register it.

It doesn't do any editing, though.

For editing the most user friendly and idiot proof one I have used is called Paint Shop Pro, by a company called JASC.

It is reasonably priced and no where near as intimidating as Adobe Photohop, which is what pros use.

camera should come with some kind of editing software, though the ones I have seen and used haven't impressed.

I don't know much about editing software. Every single one that I've tried, with the exception of Photo Draw, which came with my MS Office program, has frustrated the hell out of me. If you've got office my might already have it. It depends on what version you've got. I've got a 5 year old version of MS Office 2000 Premium.

ONE TEAM - ONE FIGHT!!!

Mike

I'm about as adept @ PhotoShop as any amateur, and I have a friend who's entire career is retouching photos in PhotoShop for large advertising firms. (He will retouch each individual pixel in an image over a period of 6-8 months.)

First & foremost consideration; you need a good image. Don't bother trying to make a poor image "good" by editing. My friend won't even consider beginning a retouch unless there is a good image to start with.