Employment background criteria

I have sent a resume to a local inspection firm and am being ignored.I beleive I have the experience and qualifications to be of value to this firm,but for some reason I can't get past the secretary/receptionist.Can some one in this form please tell me what you would look for as qualities and qualifications,in searching for a new employee?Please bare with me as this is my first time logged on the site.Thank You Rich(pole)[b)]

Hi Rich,

Everyone here knows that I've yet to do an inspection, but I'm poised to go.

I have, however, had dozens of employees over the last 23 years. I know what I'm looking for in an applicant and it's not always just what they currently know or what they've done.

If you'd like to email me your resume', I'd be happy to look it over. I may have a few suggestions.

If you're really brave, post it and everyone'll have a go at ya.

One more thing Rich, Take a few minutes and fill out your profile, we want to know who you are. If you're quite unattractive feel free to post a pic of your wife or girlfriend.

Everything Chad said.

I get about one resume a week from ITA graduates; I'll admit, I don't even answer.

Experience. Most applicants are looking for a job; I'm looking for someone willing to carry my ladder until I can assess their abilities. Most applicants are insulted w/ that. Too bad.

I tell applicants that phone in to send me a single spaced page of narrative on any topic they wish. Basically, Creative Writing 101. Not one applicant has sent me anything.

Inspecting is the easy part; reporting is the hard part. Can you write a report? And, I don't mean filling in the checkboxes & hieroglyphics of an ITA Matrix, or similar checkbox report system. I would almost guarantee that if you can communicate well in writing, you would have inspection companies calling you instead of the other way around.

I've spent my entire life trying to become an accomplished technical writer; someday I'm gonna get it.