Newbie here

Hi all,

I'm just a 17 year old kid trying to figure out what to do with my life, and more specifically, how I will support myself. I came across home inspection and it sounded interesting to me. I'm also interested in remodeling and actually fixing problems rather than just pointing them out. However, I am a girl, I have literally no construction experience, nor do I know anyone who does construction. I saw that there was an Associate's of Science program for construction at my local community college, but I feel like there must be better ways to gain experience if I'm going to be a home inspector. Sadly, there was not a program for home inspection at said college (but there was a program for building inspection)

So I am interested in knowing how anyone got into this line of work, or if anyone has any advice they could give me

On 11/17/2020 at 10:19 AM, ansu said:

Hi all,

I'm just a 17 year old kid trying to figure out what to do with my life, and more specifically, how I will support myself. I came across home inspection and it sounded interesting to me. I'm also interested in remodeling and actually fixing problems rather than just pointing them out. However, I am a girl, I have literally no construction experience, nor do I know anyone who does construction. I saw that there was an Associate's of Science program for construction at my local community college, but I feel like there must be better ways to gain experience if I'm going to be a home inspector. Sadly, there was not a program for home inspection at said college (but there was a program for building inspection)

So I am interested in knowing how anyone got into this line of work, or if anyone has any advice they could give me

I started off as home inspector about when you were born. I've a degree in electrical engineering but ended up working on houses almost all my life. I'm license in electrical and HVAC since the mid-80's