Crap. Now I need a real job.

Anyone in need of a newbie HI with a very strong structural, truss, floor, basement background? Need some training in electrical.

Looks like my truss company is shutting down before I'm ready to get myself underway. (kind of why I've been absent for a few weeks)Ugh. I hate being in this position.

I feel your pain! I graduated from college in 1968 and have been looking for a "real" job since then. Ya Ya, I have done a couple inspections just to keep beans on the table, but never found the security of a full time real job.

Jeff, NOW is the time to take the plunge!

E & O companies will work with you. At least they used to...

It's quite a few years ago, but the Allen Group took a signature and 1/3 down. They spread the rest over a nine month period. You paid a little extra for that, but if it helps you jump in confidently, it's worth it.

I've never price schools, but The Profession Home Inspectors Institute out of Falls Church VA was a pretty good school and very affordable. $1200.00 back then and I think it's only up to $1500.00 now. It had pretty good teachers and its founder has been around for a looooong time.

Hope that's helpful.

Good luck!

Kurt's right. That's the easiest and safest way to get trained and started for sure. But, if you ever want to go out on your own you will most likely have to leave town due to non-compete agreement. I started out in 1992 working for someone else, too. (Invaluable)

Getting started is tough.

I was in the same boat in 1995, and I spent the money and have never looked back, if you believe you can do it, go ahead and take the ITA course and get crackin, I believe that working for someone else just lines their pockets, you can do it on your own, but make no mistake, you'll work harder, far harder for yourself, than you ever did for someone else.