Mold...

[:-crazy]Anyone have an opinion of the best mold inspection and remediation certification training? Who? Where? When?

Any mold inspectors/remediators out there have any advice to provide? Are you doing well with mold inspections? How is the liabiliy aspect? Any lawsuits over any mold inspections?

I am a new inspector in Missouri. Considering doing mold inspections and remediation. Want any legitimate advice, both good and bad.

Dan[:-crazy]

Personally I think the only legitimate advice regarding mold testing by home inspectors is "Don't". When people ask me about it on those intial calls, I tell 'em I already know there's mold in that house they're looking at. There's also some in mine, yours, and everybody elses' who doesn't live in an operating room. Big deal. Very few kinds are actually toxic, and others only affect certain people. The type of testing inspectors do won't produce one shred of useful information. It's a ripoff.

Don't be a ripoff.

Brian G.

Dan,

Go to www.mayindoorair.com

Buy one of the books and read it carefully.

If you can do the kind of work these guys do, they get into mold testing. If you can't do what they do, steer clear. You'll thank me some day.

If you do get into trouble with mold testing, Jeff, or someone like him is likely to be the Plaintiff's expert. You don't want to be in the ring with Tyson until you're ready, do you?

There are better ways to lose an ear,

Hi Dan,

I think the best training for mold certification and remediation would be to go to college, get a degree in mycology, work as an assistant to an established mycologist or industrial hygienist for a few years and then strike out on your own doing mold inspections and testing. Maybe by then, the research in mold toxins being conducted EPA and CDC will catch up to the hysteria and they will have established thresholds of toxicity for mold spore that can be used to back up any of your findings.