In Search of the Perfect Inspection

hausdok

Anacortes, WA/November 21, 2011

by Rick Bunzel

As I approach my tenth year in business I am still learning about homes and perfecting my trade. Our clients have an expectation that we will do the perfect inspection and catch 100% of the issues. However, few are willing to spend the time or money for an exhaustive week-long inspection of a home. Realtor's would not support this type of inspection as the multi-day inspection would displace the seller and most likely bring up issues that were present since the home was built and not caught by the building department. Like all inspectors I don't like getting the phone call from an upset client about an issue they have found in their newly purchased home that they feel I should have caught. Mike Holmes' Show, Holmes' Inspection doesn't help as his favorite line seems to be, "The inspector should have caught that." However, can we deliver a near perfect inspection in the few hours we spend in a home?

Near perfection is possible. In the 1990's and 2000's many companies launchd process improvement programs such as Total Quality Management, Business Reengineering, Lean, and Six Sigma. Many got significant benefits, including higher quality, lower costs, faster time-to-market, and better customer experiences. Companies like Boeing must have processes that produce 99.9% defect-free airplanes or they can't remain in business. McDonald's is another great example; they have to create a 30-40 menu items consistently across the world. The taste, texture and temperature all has to be perfectly consistent. McDonald's also creates the same customer experience worldwide, so when you go into a McDonald's in Toronto, the dining experience is the similar to New York City.