Lets Talk Mold and The Current State its In

Hello Everyone,

My Name is Dan, I'm a new member here and so far this sub-forum is very interesting. I remove mold by trade. Before I'm strung up an sent to the gallows by everyone, let me give you my views on it.

First, the only thing I do is remove mold and water damaged materials AFTER the water/moisture problem has been addressed. The company I started with was one that used ''scare tactics''. Thats all I will say about them for now.

Starting up my own company has opened my eyes to a lot of problems in the industry. The first thing that bothers me is certifications. They're so many out there it makes my head spin. On top of that, you have to have a certification in order to get liability insurance. And they don't care where the certification comes from. Neither do the Real Estate Agents, banks and many clients. Its just how it is right now.

However, I do like the ACAC and the top members seem to despise the people who get into the business to strike gold. Their radio show ''IAQ Radio'' is also very informative and I highly recommend you give it a listen. Its not just about mold. I would also like to hear some member opinions on the organization.

Another thing that bothers me is how a majority of the public thinks mold is so bad. Opening them up to the ''mold is gold'' crew. While I think high concentrations of mold in the household are unhealthy and need to be addressed, I'm often telling prospective clients to stop freaking out. I do not answer any health related questions about mold, I tell them to consult their Health Care Professional, as I think they are the ONLY ones qualified to give that type of advice.