Cathedral Cold Roof Insulation

Abletree

Hello Everyone!

I am new here. I am a novice in construction, but would like to put some sweat equity into a second home I have.

Hoping to scale down and live efficiently, I would like this small ranch on a slab to be very energy efficient.

I have done most of the gutting and the interior walls and roof has been stripped down to the studs and rafters. The main living area is very open with cathedral ceiling and a hip-roof.

It was suggested to me to make the roof a cold roof by installing 2x2's along the rafters and then 2" of high R rigid foam panels sealed between the rafters. A ridge vent and eave vents would provide an air channel.

Any tips on this? I live in a cold region. Can anyone suggest a method to use beyond the 2x2's and the rigid foam? There is still some room for more insulation. How would you recommend finishing it off?

Thanks in advance, David

Originally posted by Chad Fabry

I'd just fill the rafter bays with icynene (if they're 2x4 rafters, scab on some sleepers to increase depth to at least 6 inches). Install foil faced rigid to create a thermal break so the drywall doesn't show the rafter outlines from ghosting,drywall and you're one. This method requires no venting.

Hi Chad,

I have never seen this method used. Why would ventilation not be required? What happens to any moisture that gets trapped within the roof structure?

I would suggest packing down the framing to provide the space for at least six inches of insulation with foam chases to provide air circulation between the vented soffits and ridge vent.

More importantly, someone that knows what their doing needs to check the structure before this is done. Is there a ridge beam or are collar ties needed. Can the rafters support the added loads?

I have seen many homes where the structure has sagged or even failed because of this type of work.

I get nervous when I hear that a "Novice" in construction is gutting a home.

Regards,

Steve H.

Hi,