Passing the National Home Inspector Exam

homewhisperer

Hello my name is David, I am 21 years of age. I had originally started the pre-licensing requirements to become a home inspector back in 2018. I took the exam late last November and did not pass. I however have gotten around to wanting to study and pass the exam this second time around. I thought about giving up, but I have put too much money into this to not continue on. I have no experience in blue collar work or any type of industrious background. I understand that many people in this profession have had a head-start with some type of involvement in construction and trade.

I have contacted a few home inspectors to potential 'shadow' but they have not got back to me. It seems as if many folks have a bad mentality of viewing the person who wants to 'shadow' them as some form of competition. Anyways, I have the 'Principles of Home Inspection: Systems & Standards 3rd Edition' book by Carson and Dunlop. I also have 'The Complete Guide to Home Inspection' book and the not as helpful '8th Edition Code Check'. Last but not least, I have the 'NHIE "Study Guide"' from 2015 (I believe there is a more recent and more expensive version out there). I did at one time have a course from CompuCram, I can always purchase an extension again. How can I be sure to pass this exam on the second take? Any bits of advice and tips/tricks are much appreciated.

Thank you,

David.

Edited by homewhisperer
Correction of typo.

I used to believe that a background in home construction and the trades was not particularly important to a home inspector because most of that stuff can be book-learned. I believed that it was much more important to know how to run a business first and know how a house works, second.