Upside down condenser fan?

Neal Lewis

Older Westinghouse condenser unit. The fan was drawing air down through the top of the unit and discharging out the side colis. The condenser was a standard configuration; I doubt it was manufactured this way.

The system was cooling the house. What's the implication of the fan installed upside down? The only thing I can think of is that it may not move air as effectively.

Neal I'm no engineer or mechanic, but if the air flow is backwards doesn't that mean the motor is running in the wrong direction?

I sure haven't heard or seen what you describe. I suppose the air passing thru the coil is what counts anyway, though the direction of flow might not be with the designer's intent.

The condenser fan on a residential unit is single phase. You can't reverse a single phase motor however, you can order a motor with a cc or ccw rotation looking from the shaft end. To reverse a three phase motor just reverse two of the leads.

I would think that someone installed the wrong motor. I'd advise the client to have the unit looked at by an a/c company.

Originally posted by Terence McCann

The condenser fan on a residential unit is single phase. You can't reverse a single phase motor however, you can order a motor with a cc or ccw rotation looking from the shaft end.

Huh? Anything from a simple 120v electric drill on up can be reversible. When I sold electrical stuff we stocked a lot of 1/4 - 3/4 HP motors for AC units. Some were dedicated cw or ccw units, but others could be reversed by switching the connectors on two leads left hanging out at the back of the motor.

Brian G.

Whut 'Chu Talkin' 'Bout Willis? [:-bigeyes

Originally posted by Neal Lewis

Older Westinghouse condenser unit. The fan was drawing air down through the top of the unit and discharging out the side colis. The condenser was a standard configuration; I doubt it was manufactured this way.