Misunderstanding

In a class the other day on report writing the teacher said when you write something up like a miswired receptacle you should report the general area where it is, not where it is at.

The reason why was that you wanted the electrician to do the work and he would check on the receptacle and find the one that needed repair.

If you told where it was, you were giving the homeowner permission to do the repair.

I believe if the homeowner does the repair he is not going to check for other receptacles and I don't believe just telling a general area is going to stop some homeowner from doing the repairs

What do you think?

Sounds bogus to me (I'm with you). Then again, I'm no lawyer......

I specify exactly were a mis- wired receptacle is located, etc. This is so a good electrician does not have to spend the time to hunt it down, and so a lazy electrician doesn't just say he can't find it and move on.

I can't see how being vague could be a good thing in this business.

I'd write "the GFCI receptacle closest to the window, over the kitchen counter is mis-wired and is an electrocution hazard. It's likely an easy fix. Have an electrician correct it as soon as possible."

I also tell the client where the grading can be improved, where the roof is leaking and which windows are fogged. Identifying a problem without specifying a location provides nearly useless information that will likely result in the repair person not finding the same issue and then proclaiming the inspector an idiot.

In a class the other day on report writing the teacher say when you wrote something up like a miss wired receptacle you should report the general area where it was not where it was at.

I think the teacher needs to go back to school.

You can always write things like that up based on this model:

... locations include but are not limited to: location 1, 2, 3, 3, etc. Have an electrician make repairs.id="blue">