sliding glass door replacement

John Dirks Jr

I'm planning on helping my dad replace a sliding glass door in his house. Please forgive my ignorance because I've never done this before.

The door to be replaced serves a second floor wood deck that has no stairs from the ground outside. I'll probably have more questions on this topic but logistics come first.

I understand these doors come as assemblies. Will this new door assembly fit through the front door of the house so it can be carried through the living room and out onto the deck for installation?

Can the new assembly be dis-assembled, parts carried through, and then reassembled for installation, or is the only sensible option to figure a way to hoist it up from the ground on the outside?

Forgot to add. The front door is your typical 30-36" sngle hinged door.

Best to go to the store, if possible, and measure it. Wood entrance doors would be 6' 8" of height. Steel equivalents are usually a little less as are sliding glass doors. It won't fit if your front door is steel, but if it's wood, there's but a small chance.

Get some friends over before the install date and tossed it up to the deck.

Marc

There are lots of very good doors that come knocked down if your thinking of a slider. Hinged doors are almost always assembled, and many sliders are too. If you get an assembled slider the operating panel comes out easily, the stationary panel sometimes not so much. Remove the operator and turn the door on it's side with the stat panel down, four strong bodies should be able to lift the door up over the rail from outside, two on deck and two below. Use good ladders if it's really high, and a few extra bodies if they're all your dad's age. We do them this way all the time at the day job. Don't go through the house unless you care to fix more than the patio door, even a KD door will go over the rail easier most of the time.