going back to part time

Well I have taken a full time job. It will be hanging ductwork like I did before. I was hoping that I would be a part of the work force that just work and did what I was told.

But no it was not to be. They want me to run a job for them making sure it gets put in right and the job gets done on time.

I am getting paid the dollar amount I ask for and getting a truck to drive.

So I am now a part time inspector. Of course my phone is ringing like crazy and I will be doing inspections in the afternoons and weekends.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Nope, you're wise. Bank on the sure thing and rake in all you can make from home inspecting, as well.

Best of luck to you Phillip, and please don't become a stranger here.

I've worked second jobs several times over the years, when I needed a little stability.

I think things are going to get a bit rougher in real estate for the next few months, and possibly a fair amount rougher, in general, before they get better. We'll never see a market like we experienced from 2000 - 2008 - not in our lifetime anyway. So I doubt you'll regret making a full time job decision and sticking to it.

Phillip, I got a call in the beginning of the month to hang cabinets (7 10s) at Syracuse University.

The guy was willing to wait a week for me because I had leftovers from August. Since I'd had a really good month of August and the phone was still ringing the first week of this month, I called him late that week and told him thanks but, I was too busy to do both.

Luckily for me I only have a dog to feed. IDIOT!

Good for you. If I had it to do again........

The comment above was uncalled for and I will not quote it. We do not all live in areas with high turnovers in real estate. We had to sell our property and move to be in a busier area. If I had stayed where I was, I'd be working another job now, no doubt.

Good luck, Phillip, and keep those young guys on their toes, eh?