Phantom Trojan?

I had a Norton Warning pop up on the screen today saying I'd been infected the the Backdoor Trojan. Of course it couldn't repair it. So I shut down the computer and restart it in safe mode and turn off System Restor and run Nortan again in Safe Mode. Nothing shows up.

So, I restart under normal again and run another full Norton scan. Nothing.

By the way, I have a Norton subscription and have automatic updates as well as the MS firewall, DSL router and the rest of the MS security package.

What happened to the Trojan? Was this a hiccup?

Donald

Originally posted by chrisprickett

While we're on the subject of computer protection, and back-door trojans (Goodman-you call that a "shank"?) I've had it with Norton, and plan on switching to MacAfee. Any opinions? Other options?

Get a Macintosh. I realize that this is sacrilegious, but it is a nice way to dodge the entire affair.

I'm seriously considering switching to Mac, but to stay on topic, I use two antivirus programs, one of which is free from AVG. The other is EZ trust. I don't run firewalls anymore because they slow me down and between these AV programs they catch everything that's been coming my way as it comes.

That's a lotta stuff because I was having "blue screen" events nearly every day.

I use Zone Alarm and love it. I had a lot of problems with Macafee.

http://www.zonelabs.com/store/applicati ... lid=nav_ss

Zone Alarm makes the best free firewall and the other security products are also very good.

Microsofts "Firewall" is very weak. It will block intrusions, but if you already have a trojan, it will just allow it to go about it's business. Where as Zone Alarm with alert you that something is trying to send a message out from your computer and asks if you want to allow it.

Kevin Teitel

House-Pro Inspections

Originally posted by Brian G.

The Backdoor Trojan? Did this virus start in a state penitentiary someplace? [:-bigeyes

Brian G.

Couldn't Help Myself [:-paperba