Calling Realtors

truhome

That's a tough one. Many of the established HI's on the board will almost surely tell you not to call or do anything else to pander to realtors, but you're the one trying to survive. If you think it would help, try it. If it doesn't help, drop that and try something else. As long as you keep your committment to the client first and foremost, there's nothing wrong with asking for business. And the whole time you're working them for leads, do whatever's possible to get to a point where you can do without them.

Brian G.

Do What You Gotta Do, Just Don't Sell Out [:-dog]

Darren welcome to the club. I'm new to the game myself, one of the things my instructor taught me was that 90% of all business comes to real estate agent referrals. Right now I am working on pre-inspection brochures for home sellers, and will be personalty distributing these real state offices. Remember the product you're selling as yourself, so let them see face to go with those letters and they may have more confidence in giving you a call. I'm also told it may take one or two years before you have a full thriving business. Just remember they can't recommend you if they don't see and hear from you. Better to oversell then undersell. And by the way going to this site seems a great way to get started. Lots of tips from older more experienced inspectors. Also have you tried mortgage brokers and real estate lawyers. Anyway good luck in the future as I am in the same boat as you. Sincerely Chicago(Bobe).[:-graduat

"Lots of tips from older... inspectors." Thanks, we needed that.

I work with several Realtors who I trust and who trust me. I would starve without their referrals. Personally, I don't see a problem with it. A good way to start is call or stop in and offer to give a short presentation at one of their weekly meetings. Realtors love meetings and are always looking for ways to fill the time.