help

I think it all depends on the person. Myself, I spent the last 10 years writing performance evaluations for my sailors. To date, I still never write something correct the first time, but I do know enough to go back and proof read before I let anyone see it. But you are right, if the Declaration of Independence started "we the peoples, to for a more better union", well I doubt it would have lasted.

On the other hand, a lot of people don't check themselves so much here as they would in a formal report. Some of us just write something real fast here because we don't want to spend 20 minutes ensuring spelling and grammar.

Anyways, Eric, just curious, how long have you been inspecting and what kind of training/experience have you had? I'm not degrading you, just asking as I'm new to the game myself and I'm looking to compare.

Originally posted by sepefrio

On the other hand, a lot of people don't check themselves so much here as they would in a formal report. Some of us just write something real fast here because we don't want to spend 20 minutes ensuring spelling and grammar.

John

I think you just hit the nail on the head! In today's world with instant and text messaging, most individuals take short cuts while they are typing. This has tended to overlap into forums and into other areas. I do not have a problem with it on a forum as long as I can read or make out the intent of the message. However, I would not expect to find it on any type of formal report.

Jeff Euriech

Peoria Arizona

Eric,

Just wait for the holiday to be over and Bonnie T, Kurt M, Walter J and others will really make you feel good! Ya know what? They are right!

TIJ is a good place to make mistakes and we all do make mistakes.

I notice you are a Fire Marshall, so you will have a few things to say to us about that.

Keep asking, that is how we learn from you and you learn from us.