hausdok Posted March 27, 2010 Report Share Posted March 27, 2010 Kenmore, WA With less than 100 days remaining until every practicing home inspector in the state of Washington must either be licensed or close down the business until all requirements for licensure have been met, the Washington State Department of Licensing is trying to spread the word and ensure that all inspectors know what the new rules are. On Friday, March 26, DOL issued the following via their list server: Information about home inspector licensing! All home inspectors must be licensed by July 1, 2010. There are four steps to becoming a licensed home inspector: 1. Get educated 2. Submit an exam application 3. Take the exam 4. Apply for your license Here are detailed instructions on the steps to becoming a licensed home inspector! 1. Get educated If you were not licensed before September 1, 2009, you are required to take a board approved, 120-hour home inspection fundamentals course and mentor with an experienced home inspector for 40 hours of field training to include 5 actual home inspections. You can find a list of board approved fundamental courses on the Department of Licensing website. 2. Submit an exam application After you finish your education and field training, submit your home inspection exam application packet. Your exam application must include: 1. Proof of completing a board approved home inspection fundamentals course 2. Proof of completing field training with an experienced home inspector with 5 actual home inspections 3. A complete home inspector exam application form Mail your exam application to: Home Inspectors Department of Licensing P O Box 9048 Olympia WA 98507-9048 Once your exam application has been evaluated and approved, you will receive an exam eligibility approval letter with contact information for the exam provider and instructions on completing the license process. 3. Take the exam You must contact the exam provider to schedule your exam time and location and arrange payment for your exam. The cost for the full exam is $300. When you pass the exam, the exam provider will give you state and national pass reports you will need for your license application. If you fail all or a portion of the exam, you must wait 24 hours before scheduling with the exam provider to retake your exam. The cost to retake your exam is $125 for the state portion and $250 for the national portion. 4. Apply for your license After passing your home inspector exam, submit your home inspector license application. Your license application must include: 1. A copy of your state and national pass reports from the exam provider 2. A complete home inspector license application form with your date of birth and Social Security Number required by RCW 26.23.150 3. Your $680 licensing fee made payable to Washington State Treasurer Mail your license application to: Home Inspectors Department of Licensing P O Box 9048 Olympia WA 98507-9048 For more information, please contact us at: Home Inspectors Department of Licensing P O Box 9015 Olympia WA 98507-9015 Email: DOLINTHomeInspectors@dol.wa.gov Phone: 360-664-6487 Fax: 360-586-0998 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.