Zonolite story

mridgeelk

I'm no doctor, but that piece was pretty sensationalistic. I've said this here before, but I'll say it again: Asbestos is lethal. So are bacon double-cheeseburgers in sufficient quantities. It depends on exposure. Drinking too much water can also kill you.

My grandfather worked at the Charlestown Navy Yard for most of his adult life, breathing in asbestos by the lungful every working day. He died of mesothelioma in his mid 70's.

I don't think crawling through an attic with zonolite a few times a year really compares with that.

Still, I'll be interested to see how this story plays out since we see a fair amount of zonolite in the Boston area.

Jimmy

She's in danger every time she leaves the house. I'd advise against that, except that more injuries occur at home than anywhere else.

It's all relative and sooner or later we all die from something. If my exposure to asbestos gets me at 70, is that really any more alarming than clogged arteries from eating too much BBQ?

I don't really think so.

Most of the rest of the world laughs at us when we get our panties in a wad about these things. Only a handful of countries can afford to worry about 'Silent Killers' like residential exposure to zonolite insulation.

Life is good.

Yeah, I'm with Jimmy. I won't go into my usual rant about asbestos. You've all heard me wax on about it here before.