How long to write reports?

I have been using Inspect-Express for several years now and I have to say I’m happy with it. I think I’ve tweaked it well (boiler plates, custom templates, Mail-Merge contact info in word, Auto-Text when needed ect.) for speed however, I still spend roughly 4-5 hours average writing my narrative reports for single family homes (I write all reports back at my office after the inspection).

I include serial & model numbers for major mechanical items, date them and include hyperlinks to manufactures websites (information, on-line manuals). I also include 10-20…30, photos if needed (each resized for PDF delivery of 800x600 and annotated in Photoshop). I include a summary which highlights the major findings, safety issues and recommendations found in the individual sections of the main report. I then number all the finding (thanks john Dirks, it does make it easier when various parties are discussing the report over the phone), create a PDF from word (a great option when using Acrobat as it creates bookmarks in the PDF for ease of navigation) and include the 800x600 photos as attachments.

I then combine the PDF report with a PDF home warranty (if applicable), password secure the resulting report in Acrobat so no one can change what I write and ftp a copy to my web server. I do this because some web email clients do not support attachment over 5MB (rare but reports with over 20-25 full sized photos can approach 5-6MB. Also, after a year I file the reports on a DVD, if a clients calls regarding an inspection over a year old I just type the report number into my browser address bar ((password protected of course)) and I have it. I also like having multiple copies). I then send out an email with the report attached.

I like my reports an my clients seem to as well! Problem is at 4-5 hours each it’s almost impossible to do multiple inspections in a day.