SureTest

MMustola

A couple of weeks ago I bought a SureTest analyzer from an inspector who was going out of business. I have never used one before. For the last couple of weeks I have been using it at all my inspections trying to figure out how to use it.

Here's the question. I have been finding a lot of outlets with excessive voltage drop. In a house today many outlets had a 12 to 15 percent drop under a 15 amp load and 17 to 19 percent drop under a 20 amp load. This seems extreme. I often find 6 to 7 percent drops

The instructions I down loaded for the SureTest indicates that the maximum voltage drop recommend by the NEC is 5 percent. I understand that the drop can be the result of many different wiring problems like: poor splices, too many splices, too many outlets on the circuit, etc.

How do some of you report voltage drop and what do you recommend?

Mark:

I rarely use the SureTest. I seem to stay with just a few tried and true items for regular use - though it's worth having some of the extra stuff. Anyway, a reliable source for electric info has told me that we can fudge on the voltage drop up to about 10 percent - that 5 is a bit low for the real world.

On the few times that I do find a high drop I write it for what it is - a voltage drop of ----% was found at ---, have electrician .......

Now, do I expect that the electrician will know what I'm talking about? Not really - it's one reason I don't measure for VD.

I have something called the Inspector II that measures voltage drop, but I hardly use the thing anymore. Several years ago, when I used it on every job, I always felt really clever when I busted a house's outlets for excessive voltage drop.

Problem was, the electricians who came in behind me didn't have devices to confirm or deny the problem, and/or didn't know what portion of the system to check out, and/or told the seller that I was a buffoon.