Which way should I go (new)....

I am about to be starting in the home inspector business in the near future. I am in TX where E&O insurance is a must.

Well, what I was wanting to know is are most inspectors here have their business as a LLC or sole proprietorship?

Would me holding E&O insurance kind of take the risk away if I go the sole proprietorship way?

What are you?

I'm NOT a lawyer but I will tell you what my lawyer said.

First he asked if I believed in Murphy's law

I said yes.

Then he asked if I wanted to lose my house.

Every time I would say "but I have E&O", or anything else he would interrupt with.....

"Do you want to lose your house?"

He did that until I got the point.

With an LLC, the ability to lose your house because of a Business mistake are drastically less than any other form of affordable business type.

So I too say LLC.

Greetings!

Your long term goals make a difference. If your goal is to build a rockin' business...to grow, add employees, make money and build assets...I would definitely recommend an LLC or a Sub S Corp. (They are pretty similar in structure. Visit with your CPA about the differences and what's good for you.)

One good thing about a corporation is the "corporate veil." You can keep your personal assets away from the company. Good in case of a lawsuit. Again, visit with your CPA about what it takes to maintain that veil. [:-thumbu]

xo$, Ellen - www.barebonesbiz.com

"Do you want to lose your house?"

He did that until I got the point.

With an LLC, the ability to lose your house because of a Business mistake are drastically less than any other form of affordable business type.

That's exactly the opposite of what mine told me.

He said, "If you're the one performing the inspection, you're the one responsible".

I was also told that Employees of an LLC were a different story.

If you read the court docs in the other thread, I think you'll find that the judge was also in agreement with that way of thinking.