Moisture Meter Recommendations

redquill

Avoid the cheap Ryobi scan type meter the big orange box sells.

The radio function crapped out on my Protimeter SM and I didn't have time to dink around with it so I shot over to the big orange box and grabbed the Ryobi. I does not give consistent readings at all; I can scan a section of wallboard, come back five minutes later and it will indicate something else altogether.

Look for a Protimeter SM - Mine is 10 years old and still (though reluctantly) getting out of bed in the morning and doing its job.

ONE TEAM - ONE FIGHT!!!

Mike

I am a new home inspector and i am looking to purchase a moisture meter. Does anyone have any thoughts on a good meter that will perform all of the needs of a home inspector, but not break the bank? Your thought would be greatly appreciated.

I'm a big fan of the Wagner L606. The Oregon Association of Home Inspectors made two seperate bulk purchases of these meters for their members over a decade ago. As a result, there are about 30 inspectors running around here with L606s. I have yet to hear anyone complain about them. Mine is still going strong after 13 years of being dropped, kicked, sat on, & rained on.

Every time I talk with a Tramex owner, I hear stories about the thing needing to be repaired.

The Protimeter SM is also a fine tool. If someone gave me one, I'd keep it.

- Jim Katen, Oregon