Telescopic ladder

blazenut

Do any of you guys carry telescopic ladders? I currently use a 12' little giant type ladder for hatch attics, but for various reasons I need to get a smaller ladder. Ive always been hesitant to buy one of these because of ease of use, and i have never seen one in person to test. Which ones are the best, easiest to set up, etc.? Thanks.

I've used an extend-n-climb for 2-3 years and like it a lot. I use it mostly for getting into attics. I once used it in the rain and then left it in the van for a few days before getting it out again and it would not extend anymore. I called the company and they sent me a new one, no cost.

I've been using the same 12½' Telesteps for the last 6 years or so, with zero problems. I know some think it's a tad "flexy", but I don't have a problem with it. I do also carry a 21' Little Giant, but that stays on the car more times than not as I can get on the vast majority of roofs around here using just the Telesteps (your mileage may vary). Even if you only use it inside it is a worthwhile investment, especially for those tight, inside-a-closet, attic hatches. IMO, you'll soon be kicking yourself for not getting one earlier.

I have no experience with the other brand (Extend and Climb) but I can't see how it could be any easier to use.

I've used Tele-Steps for years and they're the nuts. I also have an Extend and Climb that I recently bought, and I'm digging it, too. I use the 24' extension ladder on my truck maybe once a month.

Two extendable ladders work great for higher roofs if there's a porch- or garage-roof below the main one. And that way if I were to fall, it's only one story.