Team work

This is a serious question and I bring it here for a reason.

I've been doing home inspections part time for 8 years. I'm slated to retire from my full time job within the next 5 years or so. My wife Kym and I are contemplating a joint venture in this business.

What do you know about ideas like this? What are your opinions of common problems that might be associated with a venture like this?

Shadow that with the any positive aspects you can think of.

Thanks friends.

My spouse is an excellent typist, has a minor in linguistics and a calming voice on the phone. If she joined me I could do near twice as many inspections and I wouldn't be splitting the income with another inspector.

Every couple is going to be different.

Marc

Kym is very smart, a great people person and she types 10 times better and faster than me.

But I'm wondering how two chiefs might be a challenge.

From my experience I can tell you to make sure your relationship takes priority over the business. I did not have two nickels but I knew that i would rather have her as a wife than a business partner and in the long run I am glad that we are not running a company together. Sometime it was tough when I asked her to do something that she said made her feel more my employee. It is hard to run a family business without ruffling feathers. Good luck with your decision.

By the way please send a copy of your health insurance card and the deductible for counseling services. [:P]

My wife ran the office side and I ran the inspection side. We ran the business side by side for 25 years, some of them in a loft over the garage. As long as she gets paid and has authority over what her duties are it should work great. It also helps to like each other. As to payroll, I took the bulk of income for a number of years and then she took the bulk. This helped build our pensions and SS payments. Keep things equal.