WHat would I have to pay

In a market where inspectors charge from 250-425 for a basic house. What would I have to pay for a good guy to work for me? I have found that most people want to be Inspectors on their own--the schools convince them they are gonna be rich in 2 weeks. WHat is the number? For those of you who have started out but are struggling--first few years--what would it take for you to shelve your operation and go out and do inspections under our umbrella. Inspection plus report, using our tools, our uniform, our insurance, our gas, our toll money....

Your vehicle, mind, personality.. etc.

Since we are geographically diverse use a dollar amount and a percentage of the fee. I know what I can afford to pay, I know what I want to pay, but I am curious about evryones opinion.

Pete

Pete,

I worked for two home inspection companies before going out on my own. I was a sub contractor. My own tools, truck, gas, insurance, E&O, etc. I was paid 50% of the gross. The average inspection was $235. The on-site check list report was the only thing they provided besides the client. I averaged 10 inspections per week.

I would have stayed with them forever. I really had no desire to go out on my own. The only problem I had with both of these guys was that they were realtor whores. I got tired of the arguing. Both of these guys would look people in the eyes and swear on a stack of Bibles that they worked for the client (buyer) only. That was nothing but a big fat lie and they were able to convince themselves was true. It was the damndest thing I ever saw.

Anyway, the point is, above all else get someone who shares your philosophy.

George

Originally posted by Chad Fabry

If I ever considered being an employee it'd take 50% of the gross to buy me and I wouldn't want to do anything but inspections.

Nothing but the inspection--meaning you would not want to do the report? Or you just dont want to do marketing and stuff like that?

Pete