Who do you market to?

BruceH

I am fairly new to the HI biz and I've been reading alot of posts where inspectors say they don't market to realtors. I know about marketing to lenders and atty. types but who all else do you market to for biz. Word of mouth from neighbors and friends is slow.

Integrity - honesty - objectivity as long as you follow these three rules market to whoever can give you a referral, and realtors can give you more referrals then anyone else when your getting started in the business. That does not mean kissing their (realtors) asses, it means you have to get your name and face known so they will give you that first referral. Then you have to provide a quality report that is honest, accurate, objective and comprehensive. If you do this it will lead to building a good reputation that will lead to more referrals. It is sometimes painful to stick to your guns (Integrity - honesty – objectivity). For awhile last year I was getting at least one job a week from one of the areas top agents – it was a sweet deal that ended when she called me and asked that I reconsider something I wrote up. I explained that it was a serious situation that I wish did not exist, but it did exist and had to report it as such. I never heard from her again, but I sleep well at night and I hope the young couple that were my customers sleep safe and sound too.

If you’re a good public speaker and can present yourself well, try and get invited to the weekly meeting held at most real estate offices. They expect you to bring some kind of food, but in return you’ll get 5 minutes to talk about your business, reports, etc. You’re getting your name and face out there that may lead to that first referral. That first opportunity to demonstrate the quality of you performance.