NEC

Allen

Will the newest version of the NEC tell me when codes have changed? For instance, with gfci requirements will it just tell me they are required now or will it tell me when they became a requirement? I am a new inspector and my area has a lot of older homes. I do not want to write up something as a defect if that was not a requirement when the home was built ,but I do not know where to get that information other than the NEC.

Will the newest version of the NEC tell me when codes have changed? For instance, with gfci requirements will it just tell me they are required now or will it tell me when they became a requirement?

It will tell you where they're required for that edition. If there have been changes since the previous edition, there will be change bars in the margin. It won't give you any indication as to what the previous requirement was, though.

If you're interested in the nature of the changes, there are several entities that publish their own version of "Changes to the 2008 NEC" or something similar. Lots of them are available for free on the 'net.

Alternatively, you can buy old editions of the NEC and simply compare them. That's what I do when I'm interested in the historical minutia of the NEC.

I am a new inspector and my area has a lot of older homes. I do not want to write up something as a defect if that was not a requirement when the home was built ,but I do not know where to get that information other than the NEC.

I would think that something that's a defect would be just as much of a defect regardless of when it was written in the code. I assure you that the electricity won't stop to check the code before it shocks someone or starts a fire.

- Jim Katen, Oregon

Hi,

Print out the document below onto a piece of heavy card stock and keep it inside your clipboard.

Then go to this link: https://www.inspectorsjournal.com/forum ... goto&id=89

and print that out as a handout for customers who want information about GFCI's.