Finding furnace age

jodil

I am a new licensed inspector in ND. I am hoping soemone can tell me an eay way to look up furnace manufacture date by serial number. Is there a book to reference? A website perhaps? I have found alot of misc. information on the internet, but I know one of you experienced inspectors must have the anwer!

Thank you

Jodi,

Welcome to the fray!

Just google up Prestons Guides and you will find them both new and used. Familiarize yourself with the series and company, because you should be using them often.

Maybe someone here has an extra set.

As a new inspector have you asked anyone in your area how they do it?

hope this helps!

In my humble experience, most exterior A/C equipment that's less than 15 or so years old has the manufacturing date right there on the data plate -- day, month and year. The A/C data plate doesn't always match the furnace, but often it does.

Preston's Guide, I'm sure, works fine. But after a few weeks of looking at data plates, you should be able to figure out which numbers indicate the manufacturing date. For instance, if a furnace looks to be about 10 years old, and there's a pair of numbers printed on the data plate that indicate 96, 97, 98, well, the furnace was probably built in 96, 97 or 98.

Also, elements of industrial design -- colors, lettering, etc. -- are excellent clues to the age of the equipment.

Hint: While you're looking at the data plate, take out your cell phone, call the manufacturer on their toll-free line, read the tech the number on the data plate, and get the build date that way.

WJ

Originally posted by Neal Lewis

Maybe it's just me, but I would never make a phone call during an inspection to find out the age of a piece of equipment. There are too many other clues that would give me a year or pretty good idea of the age. I don't need to know the born-on date.