New Home Inspector Tool Tips

Hello,

I am a future home inspector and I am one lesson away from getting my certification. My books are of no real help when it comes to exactly what I need for tools and looking online has issued the same results on some you need and some you don't. I was wondering if any pros could give me a basic start up list for tools that will help me do my job but not make me poor before I start it.

I will list the tools I already have so someone can just tell me what to add. I have a digital auto ranging multimeter, a voltage pen, digital infrared thermometer, scratch awl, 3 light plug in tester, probe thermometer for water temp testing, tape measure, binoculars, flash lights of different sizes, and a couple different sizes of screw drivers both flat and phillips heads. I am not going to get any kind of roof ladder right now unless the company I work for wants me to get on the roof. I know that the roof topic is kind of a two schools of thought so I am going to wait on that till I know what I am suppose to do by my company standards. Is this enough to be good till I can afford the other things or should I get a cheaper version of the things I am missing till I can afford the expensive tools? Or are there companies that may help me with the tools?

Thanks for any help. I am looking forward to joining the ranks of home inspectors soon.

I think the roof issue has been discussed over and over again on here, and, I am of the opinion that if you can safely access the roof, you should walk it. Either way, you are going to need a ladder for attic access. I carry the 17ft Little Giant and an XTend and Climb telescoping ladder. You should also invest in a good point and shoot digital camera. There was a nice one mentioned earlier this week by Mike O. Look under the forum link for equipment, should be there.

Does Maryland have licensing for home inspectors? Which company will you be working for?