Telescoping Ladder of roof tops

lazerbrain

Hey Gang,

I'm not sure if I should be posting this in the roof forum or the tools forum, but I need some feedback either way.

Like most of you, I use a telescoping, 14' ladder to reach my roofs. Because its convenient, light weight and versatile, I don't carry anything else.

Lately I've been having trouble keeping it steady on the first roof layer when I pull it up to climb up to the next roof. Its starting to slip on the shingles. I have been using it this way for several years now without a problem. I'm not sure if the rubber bumpers on the feet are getting worn down or if I'm just getting fatter than I thought.

Any suggestions to keeping it firmly planted on the roof. (I've already considered the 'don't get on the roof' issue, sometimes that's not feasible.)

Like most of you, I use a telescoping, 14' ladder to reach my roofs

I have a feeling that most of us use something besides one of these ladders to gain access to a roof. While I have a telescoping ladder, I typically only use it when nothing else will do.

Any suggestions to keeping it firmly planted on the roof.

If there's an operable window in the right area, you could tie the ladder off to a board stuck through the open window. Another option is roof jacks. I only roof hop like this when there is no other way to get up to the upper roof; maybe 1/2% of my inspections.

I'm not sure if the rubber bumpers on the feet are getting worn down or if I'm just getting fatter than I thought.

Maybe you're just getting older and wiser.[;)]

You wanna end up in the hospital, keep using your telescoping ladder. I used mine in the same manner you describe years ago, but wouldn't dream of it now. It's a really dangerous way to get on a roof.

I only use mine for very simple interior attic hatches, or mechanical rooms in downtown condos that are located in overhead spaces.

Get a new ladder is my advice.