Rookie HI.

Hi All,

On Wednesday I'm doing my mock inspection so that I can get my HI certificate in Alberta. If everyone who reads this posts one thing that I shouldn't forget I should have everything covered.( FYI My background is framing and landscaping.) Any help is greatly appreciated.

Strive to leave the house exactly as you found it.

Pick a spot to start. Stand there an note down all of the problems that you see before you take a step. Repeat until you've gone through the entire house.

I once spent an hour and half standing in one spot before I took the next step.

What happened? Did you hit your head? [:)]

Jim's advice is good, but you won't be given that much time. Actually they will probably give you 3 hours in or on the house, so use your time accordingly.

Take notes, and write down the major headings, Exterior - siding, windows, downspouts, tour the outside and finish it. Do the decks and porches, get the roof, chimney, then get inside. Get the front entry, find a thermostat, then head for the basement. If you are not the first in the house, they have already run plenty of water. First guy in should run some water before going down. You check for leaks.

Find the furnace and do it complete, but that may mean running up and down checking registers, ok, you do that then return to the utilities.

Water heater, do what Jim says, finish that room before moving on. Bathroom, other rooms, upstairs, another bathroom, attic, you are past halfway done. Focus on major issues. A loose knob is minor, a loose toilet is major. Kitchen, go over your notes at the countertop. Don't sit in a chair, or you will fail.

Just kidding, but as you check your notes you might find something you need to check again. This is the way to get the whole house done with time to spare.

See, you still got the E panel to do. The cover is off so it is pretty quick to do. Check for undersized conductors, major, missing knockouts, minor. Good luck.