ceramic floor tile warming

Les

had several hundred foot of ceramic tile installed on an uninsulated concrete slab here in Michigan.  five zones of floor heating electric film under tile.  none of them work.  i had contractor remove several tiles that were over mat/film and he had installed them with a latex mod mortar, notched 3/8" directly on top of mat.  there is no electrical issues (all new and triple checked for continuity).  best gain I can get after 10days of operation is plus five degrees .l any ideas?

five individual circuits and t-stats.  all will come "on" and all will warm floor slightly.  these are film type and I have never used them before.  thought they would be best for existing old concrete slab installation.  I can clearly identify exact areas where the mats are with surface thermometer - gains 10-15 degrees on cold day after operating for 10 days straight.  the mats almost never shut off via temp probe and operate 99% of time with no significant gain.  

main question is what logic is there in a self adhering mat with a textile cover being installed with a 3/8" notch trowel and there by creating a thermal break?  will post couple photos later today.  all instructions followed by the ceramic guy and the electrical guys.  both are old time friends and great tradespeople.  

22 hours ago, Les said:

main question is what logic is there in a self adhering mat with a textile cover being installed with a 3/8" notch trowel and there by creating a thermal break?

Where is the thermal break? Properly installed tiles should have zero air pockets under them, even if the thinset was installed with a 3/8" trowel.

It sounds like the mats are simply not producing enough heat. Are you sure it's not something stupid like using 120-volts on mats designed for 240-volts? Were these mats made for the North American market or the European market? 

I'd be tempted to buy another mat and fire it up without installing it to see how it behaved.