Future Home Inspector

My son is headed for college this fall. He has helped me in the past on home inspections and feels like it may be a career he may like, but wants to try college first. I got into this biz about 10 years ago and feel it is going to change substantially in the next 5-10 years. Us "old geezers" may not be able to keep up. I think it is going to become much more technical, much more like an engineering field as it should. I want to advise him on what sort of courses to take. Consruction? Engineering? If you could go back and do it all again, what would you study?

Personally, I have a wildlife biology degree. Home inspection was learned "by the seat of my pants" with a little help from my wallet. I am feeling those days are over (and should be).

Engineering would be nice for linear thinking & problem solving, but it has very little application performing home inspections. Helpful, but not really that much.

Building science would have much more application, as the principles learned could be applied across the field.

Personally, I still think OJT & mentoring, w/regular classwork & study, is the best training for this strange thing that we do.

"Home inspection was learned 'by the seat of my pants'..."

And so it was for all senior inspectors. These are the mentors to seek to share their knowledge that was gained through trial and error. I wouldn't think there would be any courses offered in the near future that would compare to the training you could get from these pioneers.

"If you could go back and do it all again, what would you study?"

Nothing different, except I would start college after a few years of work experience.

My son says he wants to be a home inspector. My wife is wondering where we went wrong.